Roadtrip

My birthday was just a week ago and my amazing boyfriend drove 8 hours to come visit me and celebrate. It was scorching hot while he was here, 95 humid and sunny each day. We didn’t do any of the activities I had planned, instead we just enjoyed being together by doing the small things that I miss every day. We watched the Office, made cupcakes and played games -it was spectacular.

I was lucky to not just have Luis visit, but my friend Grace as well! She drove the long 13 hours down from Minnesota to spend a few nights with me. We decided to take a roadtrip to Nashville, a place I have wanted to visit for some time.

Nashville is insane; the bars are 3 stories high with a different live band playing on each level, the drinks are $10 each and there are so many bachelorette parties I lost count. The live music was phenomenal and we hopped from bar to bar avoiding paying for anything and listening to our favorite songs.

On our way back we stopped at a State Park and did some hiking, we discovered gorgeous outlooks. It was honestly my ideal weekend -friends, music, food, dancing, hiking and great views.

I am leaving to start volunteering at summer camp this weekend. I am so excited! 3 weeks of playing with kids, swimming, hiking and eating -what could be better?

It will be a nice break from my typical job which, while rewarding, can be difficult at times. A woman called my office telling me she had an abusive husband and that she had managed to leave him, but she had to leave her son behind in the process. She was trying to fight the courts to get him back, and they were ruling her case as child abandonment. We did what we could to help her, but unfortunately there is only so much we can do.

I pray for her and her child.

This entry was posted in Short Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment